Posted by: Mark | February 5, 2022

Resolution Update 5

A whole month is gone from 2022. Some resolutions look good; others already seem hopeless. The snowstorm this week slowed me down, although if I’d been less lazy, I could have made up for it.

1. Lose 15 pounds. I stayed home and ate two days that I should have been on campus or the pet store. I’m not even checking how bad the damage is until next week.

2. Run 100 miles. 1.1 miles on the treadmill. No change for three weeks.

At this pace, I’ll have 13.2 miles by the end of the year.

3. Read 25 works: Three:
Tamburlaine, Part One; Tamburlaine, Part Two; The Jew of Malta.

At this pace, I should succeed.

4. Read 150 Lovecraftian short stories. 26
Brian Lumley (6): The Second Wish, A Thing About Cars, Rising with Surtsey, Big C, The Fairground Horror, Beneath the Moors.
Clark Ashton Smith (10): The Invisible City, The Immortals of Mercury, The Empire of the Necromancers, The Seed from the Sepulcher, The Second Interment, The Double Shadow, Ubbo-Sathla, The Plutonian Drug, The Supernumerary Corpse, The Colossus of Ylourgne.
Lord Dunsany (6): The Sword of Welleran, The Fall of Babbulkund, The Kith of the Elf-Folk, Ghosts, The Highwaymen, In the Twilight.
Algernon Blackwood (4): The Deferred Appointment, The Prayer, Strange Disappearance of a Baronet, Imagination.

At this pace, I should easily succeed.

5. Watch 20 new movies from lists. 0

Obviously, I need to pick up the pace.

6. Send out 100 manuscripts. Two.

At this pace, I’ll only have 24 by year’s end.

7. Write 50,000 words.

4,131 Fiction
96 Nonfiction
4,227 Total

At this pace, I’ll be short about 7,000 words.

8. Produce 75 artwork. 13.

At this pace, I should succeed.

9. Three video or animation projects. 0.

10. 550 blog posts. This is #56.

At this pace, I should squeak by.


Leave a comment

Categories