Posted by: Mark | May 14, 2017

Mechanics of Eating Babies

On May 5 a couple of bad gerbil parents killed several of their babies. I’m not sure if this is done intentionally or not. A spinning exercise wheel is a death trap to eyeless, hairless babies. Unlike hamsters who chomp into a baby’s head for no reason, I have no proof any gerbil deliberately killed their young.

They definitely do eat babies despite having plenty of food. Today I found a baby with multiple deep bites all over its corpse. There was no blood so I’m guessing the body was long dead when bitten.

But is that right? I have no idea about blood distribution in newborn gerbils or humans.

It’s starting to worry me that they’re awake at night when I sleep.

Leave a Reply

Categories

