Posted by: Mark | May 10, 2017

Completion List : Terriers

I had never heard of this show until I read TV: the Book by Lan Sepinwall and Matt Zoller Seitz. Even if I had seen the title, I would have assumed it was something about dogs.

It’s really about an ex-cop and ex-con turned private eyes. The first episode started out strong and set up a storyline that could have supported many seasons. You can almost see when they got the news of their cancellation–things sped up to tie everything up in the end. Despite all this, the ending was one of the best I’ve seen.

My only criticism was that they used another variation of the “ultra-genius with no social skills” stock character  (Number 4 on this list). It didn’t ruin the episodes she was in but I wish they’d reworked the characterization.

The show’s creator defends the title but I think the show might still be on if the public didn’t think it was about talking dogs. Cop and Con is a terrible title but the bar is set so low here that it would have worked better than the real thing.

I’m glad Fox gave it time to wrap up the storyline. In some alternate universe, fans are still angry that Fox axed the show early but gave Firefly a full season.

Leave a Reply

Categories

