Posted by: Mark | March 21, 2017

Finnegans Wake: Chapter 12

Finished Chapter 12 of 17 of James Joyce’s Finnegans Wake, page 349 of 540.

One of the the things I knew about the book before I started reading (and one of the few things I know almost halfway through) is that it’s the source for the word “quark.”

I decided I would read carefully and not miss the elusive quark. If you pick up a copy, you’ll see how easy missing one word can be.

Then this chapter begins “Three quarks for Muster Mark.” Second word of the chapter, impossible to miss. My goal fell to pieces.

Well, another thing I knew was that when the nearly blind Joyce was transcribing the manuscript to Samuel Beckett, a visitor knocked on his door. Joyce answered, ‘Come in!” but Beckett thought it was part of the narrative and included “Come in” in the final draft.

I’ll keep my eyes open for that but odds are that I already skimmed past it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

