Posted by: Mark | January 24, 2017

Movies Tonight

In class tonight, we watched:

Eadweard Muybridge’s Galloping Horse – movie of the year in 1878.

Arrival of a Train at La Ciotat – I know I’ve seen this in a Lumiere documentary before but it was a long 49 seconds this time.

Un Chief Andalucia – I remember why I usually just show the first couple minutes.

The Jazz Singer – the blackface was even worse than I  remembered, and I remembered it was bad.

Nosferatu (1922) – still one of the four vampire movies I like.

King Kong (1933) – better than I remembered. The scenes in his cave were fantastic.

Melies Journey to the Moon – still holds up well.

The Great Train Robbery – Maybe I wasn’t in the mood for silents but even the cowboy shooting into the camera seemed to drag.

The Cabinet of Dr. Caligary – Slow and weird but compelling, pretty much as I remembered.

Citizen Kane – Why were monkeys on the Bengal tiger cage? I never noticed that before.

Leave a Reply

Categories

