Posted by: Mark | January 23, 2017

Finnegan’s Wake: Chapter 9

Due to its odd organization, now that I’ve finished chapter nine of Finnegan’s Wake, I am more than halfway through its 17 chapters. However, it is further divided into four books and I am still working on Book Two.  My edition has 540 pages and I am only on page 225. Appropriately I am lost somewhere in the middle.

My comprehension of the novel remains dim. Joyce used many notable names, words, and phrases such as Harley Quinn, Jerkoff and Eat Soup, and multiple variations of “tits.”

I was hoping to achieve more of an understanding of the story but I haven’t reached enlightenment quite yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

