Posted by: Mark | January 14, 2017

Finnegan’s Wake Chapter 8

My progress through Finnegan’s Wake is plodding along. I hope I’ll have it done by the end of the year. If not, there’s always 2018.

One thing that has slowed me down is Joyce’s use of the word “nigger.” I sludge through all sorts of vocabulary but that completely throws me off course.

It didn’t bother me in Faulkner because I expected it in dialogue set in rural Mississippi.  In Finnegan’s Wake, it doesn’t make sense. Of course, nothing really makes sense but that even less so.

Leave a Reply

Categories

