Posted by: Mark | May 22, 2016

Eastern Box Turtle

NKU cut another hundred or so jobs so it doesn’t look like I’ll be back in the fall or ever. I wanted to pick up some of my old books today but the building was locked. On the way home, I saw a turtle on the highway.

2016-05-22 21.32.38

I have heard of people causing fatal accidents trying to save animals so I had to pull off at a safe spot. Fortunately traffic was light and I was able to get to him. He was headed across six lanes so I don’t think he would have made it.

2016-05-22 21.31.05

I dropped him/her off at a park a few miles away. S/he boxed himself/herself up so that I couldn’t see her/his eyes to tell if h/h sex.

Sadly many people enjoy driving over box turtles for the popping sound they make. Possibly why we don’t see them as often as we used to.

2016-05-22 21.29.30

Leave a Reply

Categories

