Posted by: Mark | March 31, 2016

Justice League of America Movie

When I was younger, I ate the hottest food I could find. Nobody is ever impressed by stuff like that but I did it for years, even when I was alone. Eventually it occurred to me that I didn’t like the taste of ultra-spicy food. I quit eating it and haven’t regretted it.

Yesterday my kids started watching the 1997 Justice League of America movie. I had heard it was terrible but had never seen it.

Instead of famous characters like Superman, Batman, and Wonder Woman, the League was composed of the Flash  (a slacker version), Green Lantern  (Guy Gardner but nothing like the comic character), Fire (more or less like the comic version), the Atom (nerd  scientist type), the Martian Manhunter  (played by David Ogden Stiers), and newbie Ice.

Critics described it as Friends with superpowers. I was prepared to hate it and it did a lot to bring the abuse.

Midway through I decided that I’d rather watch this than Superman v. Batman. I’d rather watch reruns of Bill Bixby’s Incredible Hulk than sit through another grim superhero movie.

The old spicy food eating me would have been disgusted by such an admission. Then again, old me spent a lot of time in pain in the bathroom.

Leave a Reply

Categories

