Posted by: Mark | March 29, 2016

Chipmunk and Gecko

2016-03-28 18.55.34

I’ve seen chipmunks about 2,000 times this year but this was the first time I got a shot of one. Not a good picture but the best I’m liable to get.

2016-03-28 19.00.34

A while back the pet store sold geckos but there wasn’t a demand for them. The managers stopped stocking them but a few remained in the heating vents and reproduced. It’s similar to how the Lazarus lizards I see made their home from northern Italy to Cincinnati, except the geckos can’t survive a Midwestern winter¬†and are restricted to the store.

I took this picture months ago but never posted it because I thought it was a baby leopard gecko, a species I’ve already shot. Yesterday I saw one of the geckos in the back room and it climbed the walls in a way that leopard geckos could never manage.

Now I believe they are common geckos but I’m not sure. They are too small for Tokay or crested but unless I catch one, I won’t know for sure.

Leave a Reply

Categories

