Posted by: Mark | June 2, 2015

Dark Hobbit

I finally saw The Hobbit: Battle of Five Armies. I have to agree with most everyone else who complained that it was too long and the dwarves could have been more distinct (Time Bandits didn’t create distinct personalities ether; I can’t think of a film with distinct dwarves except Snow White).

My biggest complaint was that the color seemed far too muted. Several recent films have done this; sometimes the drab color enhances the work but in this case, it didn’t.

The Hobbit ought to be lighter and brighter than Lord of the Rings. Say what you want about the Rankin/Bass cartoon but it wasn’t afraid of bright hues.

All in all, I’m glad I saw it but I was hoping for more.

And what the hell were the giant worms that showed up before the battle?  They popped in from Dune and we’re never mentioned again. Peter Jackson loves his giant bugs.

Leave a Reply

Categories

