Posted by: Mark | May 2, 2015

Under the Rock Again

Yesterday after class, I checked under the same rock as I did two times previous. There are other rocks in the area but I’m just attached to this one I guess.

2015-05-02 20.26.21

Here’s the only new species I saw, a formica ant. Formica ants are beneficial because they kill pest insects.

2015-05-02 20.15.51

Here’s the underneath of the rock, the whole world for many little animals.

2015-05-02 20.16.35

The white grubs I photographed earlier metamorphed into bark beetles, pest insects. The formica ants apparently took care of this one.

2015-05-02 20.17.56

At least the pillbugs are healthy. Here’s your day in the sun, pillbug.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

