Posted by: Mark | April 17, 2015

From Beyond

I don’t know how I managed to read Lovecraft’s “The Beast in the Cave” and “Old Bugs” but not “From Beyond.”

I think I saw the movie 16 times back when cable ran it endlessly but I just read the story a few days ago.

I’ve read that if you superimpose photographs of men or women over each other, eventually you end up with a very good-looking man or woman, but to get the absolute best, you take that average and add either a touch of masculine or feminine quality to it.

That’s what “From Beyond” was to me. The textbook example of a Lovecraft story. The language, insanity, physical decay, betrayal, and the alien monsters that live unseen among us, even more than “Call of Cthulhu,” “From Beyond” stands out as the ultimate Lovecraft story.

Then again I have a lot of stories to go. I’ll see what happens with the next one.

Leave a Reply

Categories

