Posted by: Mark | January 1, 2015

2015 Resolutions

I never used to make resolutions like these until I needed some material for the blog back in 2011. Last year I started monthly resolutions and this year I plan to outdo even that.

1.  Writing. Last year I shot for writing 100,000 words. I failed miserably but I did produce more than I have in a long time. I probably won’t make it this year either but I’ll at least try.

2. Publishing. This will be the third year that I shoot for sending out 105 manuscripts. I would up it to 110 if there were more paying markets. As it is, I’ll stick with 105.

3. Blogging. After two years of a goal of 250 blog posts, I’m increasing it to 300 next year. I’m including my goofy updates about how my resolutions are going so it shouldn’t be as hard as 2014.

4. Video. I’ve been shooting for three video projects for the last couple years and making them fairly easily. I probably ought to go for ten but I’ll play it safe with five.

5. Art. This year I pretty much had to cheat to reach a goal to create five art projects. I met someone at a nature hike this summer who has been photographing wildlife for a while and I thought that would be a much more focused and realistic goal. I’ll try to photograph 100 species of animals in 2015. The first couple will be simple. I’m worried what I’ll have to do when I’m hitting the 90s.

6. Kids. Back in 2013, I set a goal to take the kids on 100 different events. In 2015 I’m going to shoot for 300 but I’m including minor stuff like going to the library and the swimming pool. I have no idea if this will wind up being easy or hard.

7. Weight. I exceeded my expectations back in 2013 but screwed up in 2014. This year I’ll shoot to lose 35 pounds. I should lose more but I want to keep it within the realm of possibility.

8. Running.  Last year I tried to get 1,825 and it looks like I’ll end just under 2,150. I’m going to try for 2,200 miles (including mileage from the sissy elliptical machine). If nothing else, it should give me a chance with my weight loss resolution.

9. Other exercise. I had two monthly resolutions about sit ups/leg lifts and push ups in 2014 and during those two months I did them religiously. I want to keep it up all year so I’m shooting for 8,000 leg lifts and 5,000 push ups. If I do them every day, it shouldn’t be too hard. If I wait to start until December, I’ll be in trouble.

10. Weekly resolutions. I’m going crazy by trying to do some sort of a different resolution every week. I’m giving myself an out in that if I miss a week, I can make up for it by doing two extra goals the next week. If I miss a second time, I’ll have to do four extra, and so on and so on. I only have 100 so I’ll run out soon if I don’t keep at them.

Here’s the insane list:

Exercise Group

1. Run 15 miles at a time

2. Run 20 miles at a time

3. Run 26.2 miles at a time.

3. Do 500 push ups in a week.

4. Lift weights five times a week.

5. 30 push ups in one sitting.

6. Not eat any junk food.

7. Not eat any fast food.

8. Eat a vegetables/fruit that I haven’t tried before.

9. Eat another vegetable/fruit that I haven’t tried before.

10. Eat a third vegetable/fruit that I haven’t tried before.

11. Only take the stairs.

12. No soft drinks.

13. Repeat any one of this group. 

14.  Repeat another one of this group. 

Social  Group

15. Give blood.

16. Give blood a second time.

17. Give blood a third time.

18. Give blood a fourth time.

19. Pick up 100 pieces of litter.

20. Pick up another 100 pieces of litter.

21. Pick up yet another 100 pieces of litter.

22. Visit a notable place I’ve never been. 

23. Visit another notable place I’ve never been.

24. Attend a SF/Comic/horror/whatever convention.

25. Attend another convention. 

26. Repeat a goal from this group. 

27. Repeat another goal from this group. 

Art Scene

28. Support a local artist.

29. Support another local artist.

30. Support a third local artist

31. Support yet another local artist.

32. Visit a new library.

33. Visit another library. 

34. Repeat a goal from this group.

35. Repeat another goal from this group.

Religious Group

36. Read five chapters from the Bible.

37. Read ten chapters from the Bible.

38. Read 15 chapters from the Bible.

39. Finish a book from the Bible.

40. Finish another book from the Bible.

41. Finish a third book from the Bible.

42. Finish two books from the Bible.

43. Read the equivalent of a chapter of another religious work. 

44. Read another chapter from another religious work. 

45. Repeat a goal from this group. 

46. Repeat another goal from this group. 

47. Repeat yet another goal from this group.

Cinema Group

48. Watch a movie from the AFI Top 100 Films.

49. Watch a movie from the AFI Top 100 Romance films. 

50. Watch a movie from the AFI Top 100 Thrillers films.

51. Watch a movie from the AFI Top 100 Comedy films.

52. Watch a movie from the AFI Top 100 Cheer films.

53. Watch a movie from the BFI Top 100 Films.

54.Watch a movie from Roger Ebert’s 100 Great Movies.

55. Watch a movie from the Top 100 SF Movies.

56. Watch a Vincent Price movie that I haven’t seen.

57. Watch a Boris Karloff movie that I haven’t seen.

58.Watch a Alfred Hitchcock movie that I haven’t seen before.

59. Watch an Academy-award winning movie of the year I haven’t seen before. 

Literary Group

60. Read something from the Lifetime Reading List.

61. Read a new novel from the MLA Top Novels of the 20th century. 

62. Read a novel from the Radcliffe Top Novels list.

63. Read a new work from the Top 100 College Reading List. 

64. Read a novel from Cawthorn and Moorcock’s Top 100 Fantasy Novels.

65. Read a novel from Pringle’s Top 100 Fantasy Novels.

66.  Read a novel from Jones’ Top 100 Horror Novels. 

67. Read a novel from Jones and Newman’s Top Horror Novels. 

68.  Read a novel from Pringle’s Top 100 SF Novels. 

69. Read a novel from Morrell and Wagner’s Top 100 Thrillers. 

70. Read a new novel from Major and Major’s Top 100 One-Night Novels. 

71. Read a new novel from Burt’s Novel 100.

72. Read a poem from Pockell’s Top 100 Poems.

73. Read or watch a play from Top 100 Dramas.

74. Read work of Roman drama.

Career Group

76. Send out 20 resumes.

77. Send out 30 resumes.

78. Send out 40 resumes.

79. Send out 50 resumes.

80. Send out a manuscript for a novel. 

81. Send out a manuscript for a non-fiction book. 

82. Repeat a goal from this group. 

83. Repeat another goal from this group.

Lovecraft Group

84. Read a Lovecraft story.

85. Read another Lovecraft story. 

86. Read a third Lovecraft story. 

87. Read a fourth Lovecraft story. 

88. Read a fifth Lovecraft story. 

89. Read a sixth Lovecraft story.

Memory Group

90. Memorize 100 world capitals.

91. Memorize at least three lists of facts (Super Bowl winners, Oscar winners, kings of England,  etc. –I used to do this when I studied for classes and I recently realized that I’ve forgotten most of the stuff I knew).

Organization Group

92. Categorize 100 books.

93. Categorize 150 books.

94. Categorize 200 books.

95. Categorize 250 books.

TBA

96. Resolution to be named later.

97. Resolution to be named later II.

98. Resolution to be named later III.

99. Resolution to be named later IV.

100. Resolution to be named later V.

Leave a Reply

Categories

