Posted by: Mark | June 9, 2014

Horror Freak IV

Here’s part four of Horror Movie Freak:

 

Monsters

An American Werewolf in London (1981) Many critics have said that the story isn’t much but I’ve always liked it as a whole.

The Howling (1981) A rare case when the movie is exactly as good as the book.

Dog Soldiers (2002)

The Descent (2006)

Feast (2006)

The Mist (2007)

The Midnight Meat Train (2008)

Splinter (2008)

 

Psychotics

The Hitcher (1986)

Misery (1990) The book was better but the movie made me wince more than any other.

The Silence of the Lambs (1991) Hannibal’s first book, Red Dragon, was the best, but I think this movie was slightly better than the book.

Seven (1995) The more I think about this movie, the less I like it. For someone who was supposed to be an expert on the Seven Deadly Sins, John Doe didn’t even have a basic understanding of it. It reminded me of Halloween III where the alleged world expert on Samhain didn’t know how to pronounce it.

Frailty (2002) I know a lot of people love this movie but it didn’t work for me.

 

Supernatural Thrillers

 Carrie (1976) The sequels/re-makes were unnecessary but the original is on my top ten.

Suspiria (1977)

The Shining (1980) I know Stephen King doesn’t like this movie but the ending freaked me out more than any other movie except The Tenant. Also the Simpson’s parody was better than their Nightmare on Elm Street.

The Blair Witch Project (1999) Everybody loved this when it came out but now claim to have always hated it. I thought it had its moments but I’ll probably never watch it again.

Final Destination (2000)

 

Vampires – Man, I hate vampires. . . even before Twilight. Back when the Cool Ghoul was hosting horror movies every weekend, vampire movies were always my biggest let-down. I started watching horror movies before I started school–I can remember talking about them in kindergarten–and vampires just looked like stuck up jerks with no real monstrous qualities at all (in the old movies, fangs were almost imperceptible).

Near Dark (1987)

Bram Stoker’s Dracula (1992) I liked the Simpson’s version.

Interview with the Vampire (1994) I think I own a copy of this but I can barely remember what it’s about.

From Dusk till Dark (1996)

30 Days of Night (2007)

Underworld (2003)

Let the Right One In (2008) I’ve heard this is good but never checked it out.

Leave a Reply

Categories

