Posted by: Mark | June 7, 2014

Horror Freak III

Third post of films from Don Sumner’s Horror Movie Freak:

Evil from Hell

Rosemary’s Baby (1968) Everyone said that Star Wars: The Phantom Menace was doomed from the beginning because it focused on a part of Anakin Skywalker’s life that no one could possibly be interested in. Rosemary’s Baby proves that Phantom Menace could have worked if handled differently.

The Exorcist (1973) Best horror movie ever. The only movie that really scared me.

The Omen (1976) I always that this had a good story but didn’t play out well.

Hellraiser (1987) Again, another rare case of the movie was better than the short story. And the short story wasn’t bad.

Drag Me to Hell (2009)

 

Foreign Horror (I’m guessing this means non-Asian Foreign Horror. I didn’t do well in this category to say the least.)

 Black Sabbath (1964)

Haute Tension (2005)

Wolf Creek (2005)

Hell’s Ground (2007)

The Orphanage (2007)

[REC] (2009)

 

Ghost Stories

 The Uninvited (1944) I’m not sure if this was ever intended to be scary but it had a decent story.

The Legend of Hell House (1973) Not nearly as good as the book but it held up.

The Changeling (1980) One of my favorite horror movies. Virtually unknown but the acting pulls it together.

Dead Silence (2007)

Poltergeist (1982) When I was in high school, I probably saw this 100 times on HBO. Now I remember it as more of an episode of Scooby Doo than a real movie.

 

Homicidal Slashers

 Texas Chainsaw Massacre (1974) Not a huge fan. I’ve always been more interested in the real life story of Ed Gein.

The Hills Have Eyes (1977) The parts of this I saw looked cheesy but worth watching (at least that’s how I remember it–the more I think about it, the more my memory points to cheese).

My Bloody Valentine (1981)

A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984) I can remember when this came out, everyone in school blabbered about it nonstop. When I finally saw it, it couldn’t live up to the hype.

Scream (1996) I was expecting this to be funnier. I felt a little disappointed but still thought it worked.

Behind the Mask: the Rise of Leslie Vernon (2007) I just saw this a few weeks ago. I’m surprised it’s not better known. It had a few flaws but in many ways it was better than Scream.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

