Posted by: Mark | June 5, 2014

Horror Freak II

 Continued from last post. I’ve got definite strengths and weaknesses:

The Classics

Dracula (1931) Great lead and one of my favorite directors.

Frankenstein (1931) The sequel was better but I love James Whale’s opening monologue.

The Mummy (1932) Probably the weakest of the Universal monsters but Karloff always works for me.

The Invisible Man (1933) It’s funny but the original exhausted most of the invisible man tropes that later versions rehashed.

The Creature from the Black Lagoon (1954) I saw the actor who played the Creature at the last Cincinnati Comic Con. He still looks pretty spry.

 

Hammer Horror – I’m pretty sure I’ve seen most of these back when the Cool Ghoul was hosting Shock Theater on channel 19 but I can only remember one clearly.

 

The Quatermass Xperiment (1956)

The Curse of Frankenstein (1957) It’s been 40 years since I’ve seen this but I can still remember Lee and Cushing in this one.

Horror of Dracula (1958)

The Mummy (1959)

Dracula Has Risen From the Grave (1969)

 

Other Classics

 Nosferatu (1929) This, Werner Herzog’s remake, and Tod Browning’s Dracula are the only real vampire movies that I like. But I like this one a lot.

Cat People (1942)

The Fly (1958) The sequels got progressively goofier (the second sequel had a human-handed guinea pig, and I don’t mean a subject of a scientific experiment, I mean a literal guinea pig). The re-make was pretty good too.

Village of the Damned (1960) I’m a big fan of George Sanders and I think he made this movie work while the other attempts at adapting the original story fell short.

The Abominable Dr. Phibes (1971) I watch anything with Vincent Price in it. The sequel was goofy but fun (I couldn’t have told you what the hell the plot was about even when I was watching it) but the sequel was better. I especially liked the pair of inept but likeable policemen. I was worried Phibes would kill them but, abominable as he was, he let them go.

The Wicker Man (1974) I’ve heard the re-make is terrible but I like the original. The one element that makes this work is the hippy Christian cop from the beginning. He’s only on screen for a few minutes but he establishes a happy medium between Christopher Lee’s homicidal pagan and Edward Woodward’s uptight Christian.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

