Posted by: Mark | June 4, 2014

Horror Freak I

I finished Don Sumner’s Horror Movie Freak (2010), a listing of what were selected as essential horror staples.

I’ve seen 63 of the 136 films listed. I’ll just cover the first couple chapters with this post.

 

Aberrations of Nature – The movie Prophecy was pretty awful but I would have included it here.

The Birds (1963) I’ve always considered this one of Hitchcock’s weaker movies but that still leaves it better than most films on this list or films in general.

Jaws (1975) I’d rank this as one of the top ten horror films.

Grizzly (1976)

Black Sheep (2007)

Cabin Fever (2003)

The Ruins (2008)

 

Aliens and Outer Space – I would have included It Came From Outer Space. That wasn’t the best movie in the world but it had a good monster and was based on a story from Ray Bradbury.

Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1956) Honestly I liked the re-make better.

Alien (1979) This is probably just me but I remember Alien when it first came out and read dozens of articles about it and eventually the butchered broadcast tv version before seeing the real thing. I enjoyed the first sequel more than the original. The later sequels, not so much.

Phantasm (1979) Unlike Alien, I liked the original but I’m not a fan of the sequels

Event Horizon (1997)

Slither (2006) I can’t believe this movie isn’t ten time more popular. I’m glad the director is finally getting more recognition.

 

Asian Horror – I’ve only seen one of these.

Audition (2002)

Uzamaki (2002) (I’ve read part of the manga the movie is based on. It focuses on spirals and it looks worth watching.)

Ringu (2003)

Ju-On (2004)

The Host (2007) A creative monster and good characters. I wish there were more movies like this, not the stupid American Twilight Host.

 

Beginner’s Shelf (Easy to watch horror films)

 Psycho (1960) A rare case of the movie being better than the book. I even liked the first sequel and the tv spin-off.

The Amityville Horror (1979) Everyone involved should be ashamed of this thing.

The Lost Boys (1987)

Ginger Snaps (2001)

Jeepers Creepers (2001) A lot of people I know love this movie but I didn’t take to it.

Shaun of the Dead (2004) I didn’t like this as much as Peter Jackson’s Brain Dead but it was a fun movie.

 

I’ll post part two as soon as I can manage.

Leave a Reply

Categories

