Posted by: Mark | May 20, 2014

The Koran: the English Translation

After months of reading it in reverse order, I finally finished the Koran this afternoon. Much like the Bible, I did not find it as inflammatory or inspirational as many other folk. Unlike the Bible, I don’t think I’ll ever read it in its entirety again. I don’t think it’s so much the content but the translation. I used five different translations over the last few months but none of them was very good. I’ve read that many Muslims don’t consider translations of the Koran from Arabic to truly be inspired and it shows. Two of the versions had blatant misspellings and grammatical errors and the others had awkwardly worded passages that might otherwise have been much more elegant.

I’ve got a few notes to post later but now I’m just glad I can go back to reading somethings a little lighter.

Leave a Reply

Categories

