Posted by: Mark | December 20, 2013

2013: A Year Semi-Wasted V & VI

As if I haven’t run the whole resolution subject to the ground, I’m going to review how I did on each of my ten goals. These are my third and fourth successes–supporting local artists and reading 30 books of the Bible and three comparable works from other faiths.

What happened:

Last year, I had the same religious resolution and I managed to get through it about the same time. The big difference was that last year I was reading (mostly) the New Testament and this year was the Old. The Testaments are rare examples of when a sequel is much better than the original.

I also read nine suras of the Koran. Not because I wanted to but because I couldn’t remember which ones I had already read and wanted to be sure I had at least three new ones.

 

I had to twist the meaning of my original resolution to get to 24 local artists. Here they are:

School music:  The Ayer Elementary Chorus (twice), The Anderson High School Band, The Nagel Middle School Band, and the Forest Hills Band Recital.

Books by local writers:  Mike Resnick (2), Stephen Leigh, Jeannine Hall Gailey, Christopher Bennett, Frederic Brown, and, the biggest cheap shot of all, three of mine.

Local school theater: Anderson High School’s Urine Town and The Wizard of Oz, Turpin High School’s Almost, Maine and Arsenic and Old Lace, and Nagel Middle School’s Beauty and the Beast)

Misc:  Trek to Trot: the Web Series, Reny and Friends puppet show, Irish dancing demonstration at the Anderson library, Fritches Marionettes’ Hansel and Gretel, and Off the Hills’ production of Dr. Jekyll/Mr. Hyde Traveling Show.

Will I try again:

I’ll probably do something similar with the religious reading but because I’d be starting with the Book of Isaiah, one of my least favorite books, I’m going to switch it up somewhat. I’ll try to keep supporting local artists but won’t make it a resolution. With two handicapped children, I was limited in what I could see. Maybe I’ll try again when they’re older.

Leave a Reply

Categories

