Posted by: Mark | November 30, 2013

2013: A Year Semi-Wasted III

As if I haven’t run the whole resolution subject to the ground, I’m going to review how I did on each of my ten goals. This is my second success–visiting five new libraries in 2013.

What happened: This year I visited the new Union Township branch library of Clermont County, the Milford branch of Clermont County, the Milford Mystery Library, the Hamilton County Law Library, and the Blue Ash branch of the Hamilton County system.

Most of the newer Hamilton County branches look pretty much the same but Blue Ash looks like it was slapped by a non-Euclidean Lovecraftian god-entity and is now set in odd angles. That’s meant as a compliment. I go to the Anderson branch more than any other library but it’s laid out in a very straight and ordinary fashion.

Blue Ash juts all over the place like a joning junkie, even the parking lot is asymmetrical. It’s collection was pretty similar to Anderson’s but the architecture was so unexpected that the books seemed different somehow.

Visiting the Clermont system almost got me to join but I ultimately decided against it.

I hate the way that the Clermont Library system mixes reference books with regular ones on the shelves. I can’t count the number of times I excitedly grabbed a book I wanted to check out only to find that it couldn’t be taken from the library.

The clincher is the fee for non-Clermont residents. I work and pay taxes in Clermont County but would still have to pay for a library card. With Hamilton, Campbell, Kenton, Boone, and the Columbus library all available for free, I can’t bring myself to do it. Still, I’m glad I checked them out. It was a dopey but cheap thing to do.

Will I try again:

I don’t think so. I still need to think of at least one more resolution for next year but I probably won’t make one about new libraries. It used to be that going to a new library was an adventure. Making it part of a resolution turned it into more of a chore. I’ll still try to go to new libraries but without the strings.

Leave a Reply

Categories

